When did we get here.

I wasn’t completely honest. Or you weren’t completely listening. We made a mess. Our cowardly spirits waited for something to give and something did. The carnage was brilliant. I hate you now. You hate me too. Or you haven’t given me any thought at all. I’m insignificant to you. Truthfully I’d appreciate it more if you hated me because how dare you forget about me. How embarrassing would it be if someone mentioned my name and you’d genuinely go ‘Ooh, nani? Wow, that was a time in my life, huh?’

Introducing you to everyone I knew and loved was a mistake. You charmed them like you charmed me. Actually no, you’re not charming. You’re nice, you’re polite, you’re not charming. But somehow, you left with everyone I love. I can be very dependent so I use the word love loosely. Which makes me wonder, how many times was I loose with that word when I told you.

It’s unfortunate. Our arrangement worked, especially when it was just us. But I guess you felt lonely with me. You needed someone to see you in a way I guess I didn’t. So you introduced more people to more parts of us. The thing with people is, they’re selfish. What we wanted for ourselves stopped being the main focus. The people pleaser in you turned into us into a democracy and you listened to the popular vote. Fair enough. However, the popular vote kept changing, the goal posts kept on shifting, what I was doing to right my wrongs was never enough. I was eventually voted off the island.

What a tragedy. Good riddance.

Leave a comment